The Mirror By Candice L. Bowser

The Mirror banner

Title: The Mirror
Author: Candace L. Bowser
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Length: 294 pages
Release Date: June 2013
ISBN-13: 978-0615832197
Imprint: Libertine Press

Available at Barnes and Noble, and Amazon

The Mirror cover

Book Description:
Adrianna Bristol stood before her grandmother’s antique mirror and stared at the black velvet cloth covering it. She just couldn’t believe her nana was gone. The mirror had hung in that exact same spot for the last twenty years, never once had it been moved from the alcove. Adrianna remembered the stern words of her grandmother when she was a child. Annabel Bristol had told her, “promise me Adrianna that you will never uncover the mirror. No matter what it may whisper to you, you must never remove the cover.”

Adrianna laid her hand against the cool velvet which covered the glass. As she walked away the mirror whispered to her, “you belong to me now. You belong to me.” A four hundred year old curse has plagued the Bristol family since the 1600’s. A curse born out of a love so rich and a betrayal so deep, that time itself has no power to stop it. Only Adrianna has the courage to find the truth behind the curse and set her family free. But will the Mirror release its darkest secrets?

Candice. L Bowser

 

Candace Bowser

An avid writer, Candace works nearly every day on one of her manuscripts. Though she predominately composes works of horror, she also writes mystery, suspense, and adventure. During the 1990’s she was a featured columnist for PRS in Kansas City. In 2011, Candace was honored by being voted one of the Top 20 Most Prolific Authors by AKG mag.. Her books are an unusual blend of historical places and events, along with fictional and non-fictional characters, which she seamlessly weaves into the story .Originally from south-central Pennsylvania, she currently resides in Kansas City with her husband Todd.

http://www.candicelbowser.com

www.facebook.com/candace.bowser

Twitter: @LilithofSumeria

 

but-author.jpg

 

Author Interview

Q: Please tell us a little about your new release, ‘The Mirror.’ I understand it is a paranormal romance and is doing quite well.
CB: The Mirror’ is my best selling novel. It was the second novel I had written, and I wanted to write a piece of work that was completely different from the first novel I had written: a vampire novel. Set in the picturesque backdrop of Bristol Bay, Maine, the Mirror is a complex telling of the history of the Bristol women, the lives they have lived, and the 400 year old curse, which plagues their family. It is not until the matriarch of the family, Annabel Bristol, dies suddenly that her granddaughter begins to unravel what has happened to her family. Bent on freeing the Bristol women from this age old curse, Adrianna sets out on an adventure which uncovers secret sects of the Catholic Church, a group of Watchers assigned to her family, and the truth behind the entity trapped within the Mirror.

Q: What was your inspiration for this particular book? Will there be a book 2 of the series?
CB: I am a bit fascinated with secret societies and history. The idea actually came to me after watching a show on the History Channel about how the ancients made mirrors and how the ones made from Venetian glass were the most highly prized. It just unraveled from there. I have had several readers ask me to write a sequel, stating that they really did not want the book to end, but sometimes this work is complete the way it is. It is my personal opinion that a sequel would spoil it.

Q: This is always my favorite question. Are you a plotter or a pantser? Please explain.
CB: Definitely a plotter because I get an idea and then I think about every possible scenarios and spin off; but after that it is kind of a free for all!

Q: I know you are an artist and enjoy doing book covers. (Especially since you did the cover of ‘The Lost Years’ for me). Do you do most of your own covers? Do you see yourself more as a writer or an artist?
CB: I have done all the covers for my books but one, which was done by a dear friend, Chris Zeigler, for the book ‘Thirteen Pieces of Eight.’ I would have to say that my passion lies with writing. There is not a given moment of any single day where I am not plotting and devising something for one of the many manuscripts.

Q: I understand you are a fan of horror. Please tell us what some of your favorite authors and reads are.
CB: Bram Stoker is my hero. I fell in love with Bela Lugosi in Dracula when I was seven years old, and my parents were avid readers, so when I asked if it was a book, they bought it for me. Bram led me to love the works of other greats such as Edgar Allan Poe, Washington Irving, and Algernon Blackwood. Algernon can weave a tale of horror that makes the hair on the back of your neck stand on end. What more could I possibly ask for?

Q: What is your next project? Do you have a release date yet?
CB: I am working on three different projects right now, ‘Claimed,’ ‘Forsaken: Guild of Bones,’ and ‘Dark Days of Remy Broulette.’ ‘Forsaken’ or ‘Dark Days of Remy Broulette’ will be one of the next ones released, though I cannot give an exact date just yet. It just depends on how they want their story told. I am a firm believer the characters dictate the story. So either Reagan McGovern will be pleading with me to finish her story or it will be Remy… either way I win and so do they.

Q: What do you do in your spare time, besides writing? Is there something silly and fun that you like to do?
CB: I love making clothing and dolls. Yes, I said it… dolls. I make custom BJD dolls (sometimes referred to as Dollfies). Mine are a bit different. They are either dark and foreboding or they are whimsical elves. I truly enjoy working with other authors and  creating covers. I think every author deserves to see their vision the way they see it and not the way someone else thinks it should be.

Q: Please give me info on where my readers can get more information on your books.
CB: My website contains all the information about my books, including links, articles, and the back jacket blurbs along with inside information, special giveaways and contests I might be running at http://www.candacelbowser.com, or if they like they can request a friendship on Facebook. I post updates there as well.

Please note that this interview was conducted by another blogger.

Candice, I wish you all the luck with The Mirror.

Kind Wishes,

Adrienne Woods

One thought on “The Mirror By Candice L. Bowser

  1. Pingback: you belong with me

Leave a Reply

