Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris

Seven Day Fiance
Love and Games Series
Book 2
Rachel Harris

seven day fiance

Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Entangled Publishing – Bliss
Date of Publication: October 14, 2013
ISBN: 978-1-62266-238-8ASIN: B00FCRLDWA
Number of pages: 153
Cover Artist: Jessica Cantor
Amazon    BN

but-syn.jpg

Book Description:

Angelle Prejean is in a pickle. Her family is expecting her to come home with a fiancé—a fiancé who doesn’t exist. Well, he exists, but he definitely has no idea Angelle told her mama they were engaged. Tattooed, muscled, and hotter than sin, Cane can reduce Angelle to a hot mess with one look—and leave her heart a mess if she falls for him. But when she ends up winning Cane at a charity bachelor auction, she knows just how to solve her fiancé problem.

Cane Robicheaux is no one’s prince. He doesn’t do relationships and he doesn’t fall in love. When sweet, sultry-voiced Angelle propositions him, he hopes their little game can finally get her out of his head. He doesn’t expect her to break through all his barriers. But even as Angelle burrows deeper into his heart, he knows once their seven days are up, so is their ruse.

Rachel Harris

About the Author:

Rachel Harris grew up in New Orleans, watching soap operas with her grandmother, and staying up late sneak-reading her mama’s romance novels. Today, she still stays up late reading romances, only now she does so openly.

A Cajun cowgirl now living in Houston, she firmly believes life’s problems can be solved with a hot, sugar-coated beignet or a thick slice of king cake, and that screaming at strangers for cheap, plastic beads is acceptable behavior in certain situations.

She homeschools her two beautiful girls and watches countless hours of Food Network and reality television with her amazing husband. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult Fun, Flirty Escapes, and LOVES talking with readers!

Website: http://www.rachelharriswrites.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RachelHarrisAuthor

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/RachelHarrisYA

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5347676.Rachel_Harris

but-author.jpg

I got the pleasure of getting Rachel’s time to do an interview, and here is what we chat about.

AW: Please tell us a bit about yourself and background?
RH: I’m a Cajun cowgirl, born just outside of New Orleans and now living in Houston. I’ve always loved writing, and I started a ton of stories growing up…finishing them, not so much. My longest effort, until trying for publication, was fan fiction for my favorite Guiding Light couple back in 2000. Once I became a mama, I decided to stay home and raise my girls, which led to the decision to homeschool them. I was a contributing writer to a homeschool magazine for a year before making the leap to fiction writing in 2010. It’s been a nonstop, crazy journey ever since.

AW: What inspired you to write this book?
RH: This is book two in my Love and Games series, and the root of it all began with my desire to write about my hometown. The people and culture that define New Orleans and Louisiana as a whole—and show it accurately. Hollywood loves to make us look like toothless idiots (he he). Taste the Heat, book 1, focused more on the food and the culture of the city of New Orleans. With this book, I wanted to explore a different side, the Cajun country side, better known as Lafayette and surrounding cities. I stayed down there for a week, talking with families, eating delicious treats, and taking pictures, and fell in love. Just as Taste the Heat was like a love letter to New Orleans, I wanted this to be a love letter to Cajun country.

AW: Describe what the book/story is about?
RH: Seven Day Fiancé is the story of a town bad boy and Cajun princess, and the giant pickle she lands them in. It’s a fun, fish-out-of-water romp through Cajun country, that I like to say is a mixture of Sweet Home Alabama and The Proposal, set in the land of Duck Dynasty (he he)

AW: What was the time frame for writing this book?
RH: This one was written super-fast, as I was having to edit and promote three different books, traveling for conferences, and gearing up for the rest of my deadlines this year. I’d say start to finish, I probably wrote this book in just over a month. But it was a tear-my-hair-out, chugging Dt. Mt. Dew crazy month!

AW: Hardest part for writing this novel?
RH: Normally I say the ending, because that tends to be the hardest for me…I have a problem saying goodbye I think. But I wrote the last 7,000 words in a day the weekend before I had to turn this book in, so the ending actually came pretty fast for this one. I’d have to say managing my time was the hardest part here. Other than that, this book was just so much fun to write, I didn’t want to stop.

AW: Do you have any other novels out there? If not, what’s next?
RH: Yes I do! This is book 2 in the Love and Games series, so Taste the Heat is already out, and book 3 will be coming early 2014. I also have a YA series out. My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century and A Tale of Two Centuries are both available, and book 3 in that series, My Not So Super Sweet Life, will release in January 2014. In addition to those, I have a second YA series beginning fall of 2014 with The Fine Art of Pretending.

AW:When did writing become a passion?
RH: I’ve always loved writing, and wrote several short stories and even soap opera fan fiction, but it wasn’t until I reread the entire Twilight series for the third or fourth time that I decided to really try a complete novel. That series helped me remember how much fun reading can be, and the book I began in 2010 is actually the book releasing next fall, The Fine Art of Pretending.

AW:Any advice for other writers?
RH: Read! Read widely, too, across genres, and then be an active reader. Pay attention to what speaks to you. When you react emotionally in a scene, stop and think about why. When you can’t stop thinking about a certain book or character, ask yourself the same question. If certain words or phrases or passages evoke a response, jot it down. All these things will help you to identify what themes and stories speak to you. They can often help shape your brand and career, and at the very least, help inspire your projects. They may help you find your own unique voice.

The next step is breaking down and studying your favorite books. Contemplating what the author’s goal was for each chapter, the main turning points and black moment. Analyzing these things in another’s work will help you think about your own more critically. And here’s a tip: most authors will be tickled pink to know you took the time to do this with their books. Don’t be afraid to reach out and let them know your thoughts on these questions. Often, they’ll respond back and either say that you nailed it, or give further insight you may’ve missed!

AW: Anything you would like to say to your readers?
RH: Just thank you! I’ve been blessed with the most amazing, supportive, awesome readers ever. They cross genres, reading my YA and adult series, they keep me laughing on our street team Facebook page and on Twitter, and they seriously make this entire journey, every chewed off nail, so worth it. Love y’all to pieces!!

AW: Favorite Authors?
RH: So many favorites—I’m a bookaholic, and read 2-4 books a week on average—but I have to say Jane Austen (of course), Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, Jude Deveraux, Lisa Kleypas, Stephanie Perkins, and SC Stephens.

AW: Website(s) and social media links?
RH: I love social media, and I respond to every tweet, email, and FB message. You can find me at my website, on Twitter, my FB author page, my street team page on FB, and on Goodreads.

AW:  Where can people buy your novel?
RH: Seven Day Fiancé can be found at Barnes and Noble, Amazon, Kobo, and iTunes.

AW: Something personal about yourself people may be surprised to know?
RH: I threw up on my first date when I was fourteen, interned at Entertainment Tonight in college, and my husband went to school with Ian Somerholder. Oh, I also play a mean Mary Had a Little Lamb on the old school phone. Which sadly isn’t much of a skill anymore, since no one uses old school phones anymore. Le sigh.

 

Giveaway 

Giveaway display link

 

Kind Wishes,

Adrienne Woods

3 thoughts on “Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris

  1. Pingback: Seven Day Fiancé by Rachel Harris Blog Tour | Entangled In Romance

Leave a Reply

