The Basement by Vashti Quiroz-Vega

The Basement

 

Title: The Basement
Genre: Middle Grade
Ebook, 180 pages
Published August 20th 2013 by Tate Publishing
First title: The Basement Robbie’s Rite of Passage
ISBN 9781625105
Edition language: English

 

but-syn.jpg

“A kid should not be aware of his own heartbeat”, he thought.

Never forget the unexplored territories in your own back yard, or under your house. Here, Vashti Quiroz-Vega gives voice to the young inhabitants of one neighborhood where things are more than they seem.

Robbie is an ordinary boy in a normal world, as we first enter the neighborhood and witness an idyllic scene of prepubescent children at play; but what happens in silence and in the dark will amaze you. Join Robbie as he journeys to explore unknown and forgotten tales of intrigue, fear and blind faith.

Ask yourself:

What kinds of monsters lurk in your world?

What will you do when you can no longer see?

The Basement is a tale of angst, teamwork and solutions, of treasure hunts and adventure, and of facing your fears. It is a focus on the small- but everything- world of one group of pre-teens and the very real and wondrous world they face, and it is a take-away resource.

What will you take away?

Vashti

 

Vasti Quiroz – Vega lives in Seria: I didn’t get time to chat with her but I got this of her blog on goodreads where you can connect with her.

We’re living in tough times, what with impending war and the economy being what it is. I’m sure most of you are aware that the United States and its allies are preparing for a possible strike against Syria. I understand that what’s happening there is important and affects all of us. I also know that this subject is complex and may be confusing for some people.

I’m not a journalist or even a very political person for that matter, but I’ve been following this story. In today’s blog post, I am going to share my thoughts and opinions on this subject. The entire issue is confusing, and my hope is that in the process of sharing my thoughts, I will help at least one person to better understand what’s going on. However, I encourage you to do your own reading and research and develop your own views on the matter.

Syria is a country in the Middle East. It’s about the size of Washington State. The country is currently in the middle of an intense and bloody civil war. So far, the fighting between government and rebel forces has resulted in the death of over one hundred thousand people, as well as two million refugees, half of them children

 

but-review.jpg

 

The Basement was a really awesome Middle grade read. Vashti hooks you from the beginning straight through to the end. I think this can fall under horror for Middle graders and I also think that they will love this.

The thing about the basement is, Vashti really makes her story sound real. It can happen, in the eyes of a middle grade, and that is what makes it so scary. I loved every page, I think she has a unique writing style and very well developed characters. The plots in this story are developed to the t. I don’t want to give any spoilers away. If you have a middle grader running around your house, get them this book. They will devour the pages and feel as if they are going with this character on a journey, they’ll never forget.

Well done, Vashti. If my babes were older, I would have definitely gave this to them.

I wish you all the luck with The Basement.

Kind wishes,

Adrienne Woods

Leave a Reply

