Fairies in My Fireplace Monster Haven Book Three

Fairies in My Fireplace Monster Haven Book Three

R.L. Naquin

Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publisher: Carina Press
Date of Publication: Sept. 3, 2013
ISBN: 9781426896279
ASIN: B00CV30XCE
Number of pages: 226
Word Count: 86,000
Cover Artist: Kix by Design
Amazon BN

Book Description:

Sometimes it’s the monsters who need to be saved…

A migration of mythical creatures has begun, and more and more of them are landing on Zoey Donovan’s doorstep. As the only Aegis left in the country, it falls to her to protect the Hidden and keep them safe—and her house has become a sanctuary for water sprites, goblins, harpies, djinn and more.

Keeping track of her boarders is a full-time job, and Zoey’s already got her hands full trying to run her wedding planning business. Good thing she has a resident closet monster to keep her organized, and a hot Reaper boyfriend to help her relax every once in a while.

But she can’t keep up monster-triage indefinitely, and as more Hidden arrive, it becomes clear that someone—or something—is hunting them. In the midst of planning an event for a notoriously difficult client, Zoey’s got to figure out who’s behind the hunt…and she’s got to stop them before there are no Hidden left.

AW: Please tell us a bit about yourself and background?

Hi, Adrienne! Thanks for inviting me here today.

First of all, the “R” stands for Rachel, so you can all call me that. I’ve always been a writer, but until a few years ago, I was never a finisher. Kind of hard to sell a book you haven’t finished, right? I’ve worked a lot of jobs, but never had a career up until now, because in my heart, all I ever wanted was to write for a living. I took a long while to finally get there.
RN: Both my kids are adults, so that gives you an idea of how long this took me. I’m not an adult myself, though. I build LEGO sets, watch too much television, stay up too late at night, and run off on a whim with my husband on weekend trips to see giant balls of string. I’m probably not very stable.

AW: What inspired you to write this book?
RN: Fairies in My Fireplace is book three in the Monster Haven series. When I set out to write the first one, Monster in My Closet, I wanted to write an urban fantasy with a strong heroine who didn’t have weapons or huge superpowers or martial arts skills. And I wanted her to be humorous without being snarky or mean.

AW: Describe what the book/story is about?
RN: Monsters, mythological creatures and urban legends are being kidnapped all over the country, and the survivors have been piling up in Zoey’s house, looking for her help, since helping monsters is her job. All the other Aegises (monster helpers) in the country are already missing, so Zoey’s the only one they can turn to. She has to figure out who the kidnapper is and try to rescue everyone before all the monsters are gone.

AW: Is there a message in this novel you want your readers to grasp?
RN: I never meant to work a message or theme into my books, but each one comes out echoing the same idea of the importance of family and that family itself is created out of people who love each other, regardless of whether they’re related – or the same species.

AW: What was the time frame for writing this book?
RN: I usually spend a month or two outlining a book and playing with the structure of it. Then it takes me about two months to write, and another two months for the editing. Mind you, each of these stages shares room with other books in different stages, so, for example, I’m editing one while I’m writing another, or outlining while I’m editing, or even promoting a release while writing one. I might have three different books in different stages at any given time.

AW: How did you come up with the title?

RN: My publisher, Carina Press, renamed the first book from Red Velvet Death to Monster in My Closet. So far, they’ve let me name the rest of the books in the series, as long as I keep the pattern (?) in My (?). There are, in fact, a tribe of fairies sheltering in Zoey’s fireplace in this book.

AW: Who created your cover?

RN: Kix by Design.

AW: Hardest part for writing this novel?

RN: There’s a very difficult couple of scenes in this one. I had to do something very, very hard. I’m expecting some hate mail over it.

AW: How did you find your publisher/agent – if self published, why did you choose to self publish?

RN:I spent a few months with my first book sending out agent queries. I came close a few times, but quickly realized the slushpile process was soul sucking and I wanted no more of it. Carina had already caught my eye, so after researching them as thoroughly as I could, I submitted directly to them. A few months later, they made me an offer for Monster in My Closet. The next year, I wrote the second book and it went straight through my editor for submission, so didn’t take nearly as long for an acceptance. After that, I was able to give her a synopsis of the rest of the series, and they sent me a contract for the final four books in the series. I’ve been really, really lucky.

AW: What was your biggest learning experience/surprise throughout your publishing process?
RN: I think my biggest surprise was the readers. I’d been expecting to be ripped apart, or worse, ignored. But I’ve met so many truly wonderful, enthusiastic readers who really love my characters. On days when the words are dragging and I feel like I totally suck at this, my amazing readers are the ones who bring me back around to forge through the rough parts.

AW: Do you have any other novels out there? If not, what’s next?
RN: No other novels out there yet, outside of the first three Monster Haven books. I’m working on a sekrit new series, though. Look for it late next year.

AW: When did writing become a passion?
RN: Always. It was only in the last few years that finishing what I start also became a passion.

AW: Is this a series? If so, tell us a bit about the books planned.
RN: This is book three of six in the Monster Haven series. The next book, Golem in My Glovebox is written and awaiting edits. Zoey and her reaper boyfriend, Riley go on a cross-country road trip. Books five and six, Demon in My Driveway and Phoenix in My Fortune is where we’ll finally find out who the absolute Big Bad of all this is. It’s bad, let me tell you. Each book is amped up a little more than the previous one, so look for things to get really bad by those last two.

AW: Any advice for other writers?
RN: You are not a statistic. You are you. Write. Finish. Edit. Publish. Ignore anyone who tries to tell you the odds of success are against you, because those people are not looking at you. They’re looking at a spreadsheet. Go be awesome, and don’t let people tell you it’s impossible, because it’s not.

AW: Anything you would like to say to your readers?
RN: I love you guys so much. Seriously. Thank you from the absolute depths of my soul.

AW: Favorite Authors?
RN: Oh, gosh. This question is always so hard. I had a meltdown trying to populate my Goodreads page with authors I’ve read and loved. I gave up after a short while. Here are a handful in no particular order: Patricia McKillip, Robin McKinley, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Ray Bradbury, Ridley Pearson, Gregory Maguire, C.S. Lewis, Piers Anthony, Neil Gaiman, Madeleine L’Engle. I’m all over the place.

AW: Favorite Books?
RN: All the Narnia books, The Forgotten Beasts of Eld, Island of the Blue Dolphin, The Very Hungry Caterpillar. There are a lot more. A lot more.

AW: Website(s) and social media links?
RN: http://www.rlnaquin.com
https://www.facebook.com/rlnaquin
https://twitter.com/RLNaquin

AW: Where can people buy your novel?
RN: Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Fairies-Fireplace-Monster-Haven-ebook/dp/B00CV30XCE/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1377020115&sr=1-4

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fairies-in-my-fireplace-rl-naquin/1115375474?ean=9781426896279

Carina Press: http://ebooks.carinapress.com/B148C024-D269-4484-A6A5-F0F1D6824BD9/10/134/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=4152A92E-CE8C-4523-891D-78FB7DDFD457

Or anywhere e-books are sold!

AW: Something personal about yourself people may be surprised to know?
RN: All four of our cats are named after food items: Oatmeal, Cornflake, Biscotti, and Molasses (Molly).

Thanks again for having me, Adrienne!

Tour Wide Giveaway
3 copies of one Monster Haven ebook, winner’s choice of one book from the series
1winner of all three Monster Haven ebooks

Rafflecopter code
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Link to grab code
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/YmExMTJmZmM0NTczY2U4Y2JhMWU1MGJkZGZiMWE4OjM2MA==/

One thought on “Fairies in My Fireplace Monster Haven Book Three

  1. Pingback: Release Day for Fairies in My Fireplace! - R.L. Naquin

Leave a Reply

