Interview with Chris Redding, author for Along Came Pauly

I’ve chatted a bit with Chris Redding and this is what she had to say about her writing and experience.

AW: Please tell us a bit about yourself and back ground?
CR: I’ve been writing since I was ten, but seriously for publication for the last 15 years. When I’m not writing, I work part time for my local hospital.

AW: What inspired you to write this book?
CR: Years ago, I promised my husband we could get a dog when my younger son was 5. I wanted a rescue dog and I didn’t want a puppy. I ended up getting neither of those concessions through no lack of trying on our parts. So here I was with a puppy and young kids. I thought about what mayhem a puppy can cause. Voila, this story came out.

AW: Describe what the book/story is about?
CR: Basically, it’s about a dog trying to get two people together who don’t want to be. It’s also about changing expectations and preconceived notions.

AW: Is there a message in this novel you want your readers to grasp?
CR: Not really.

AW: What was the time frame for writing this book?
CR: The first draft was done in about 3 months. I revised it over about 6 months a few years after I wrote it.

AW: How did you came up with the title?
CR: I saw a movie with Jennifer Aniston and Ben Stiller called Along Came Polly. The two people meet and end up changing their expectations of the other person.

AW: Who created your cover?
CR: My son did. He’s a whiz with photo shop. The dog on the cover? Mine. He’s getting a percentage of the profits via dog treats. 

AW: Hardest part for writing this novel?
CR: Making it funny because at the time my life was not funny.

AW: How did you find your publisher/agent – if self published, why did you choose to self publish?
CR: I chose to self-publish because I don’t think it fits into the mold of NY publishers.

AW: What was your biggest learning experience/surprise throughout your publishing process?
CR: I’m amazed how many people can read something and there are still typos.

AW: Do you have any other novels out there? If not, what’s next?
CR: I have 3 other novels, a novella and a collection of short stories out. Next up? I think another collection of short stories then another novel.

AW: When did writing become a passion?
CR: When I was 10 and I impressed a classroom of kids with my writing. 

AW: Is this a series? If so, tell us a bit about the books planned?
CR: Not really a series. I do have a few more romantic comedies planned that include dogs. Next one will be about a doberman a friend of mine had.

AW: Any advice for other writers? CR: Never stop learning, never stop trying.

AW: Anything you would like to say to your readers?
CR: I hope you enjoy the book and feel free to write a review.

AW: Favorite Authors?
CR: Cathi Tully who also writes romantic comedy. She’s got great comedic timing in her books. KM Fawcett who writes science fiction romance. Her worlds have so much depth to them.

AW: Favorite Books?
CR: Thin Dark Line by Tami Hoag. I love, love, love her hero.

AW: Website(s) and social media links? 
CR: http://chrisredddingauthor.blogspot.com
http://www.facebook.com/chrisreddingauthor
http://www.twitter.com/chrisredding

AW: Where can people buy your novel?
CR: For now, just Amazon. By December it’ll be out everywhere else.

AW: Something personal about yourself people may be surprised to know?
CR: That I am not fearless. I’ve had people tell me that I must be, but I’m really not. I’m just impetuous and stubborn. If I go all out, I tend to stick to it.

Thank you so much, Chris. And I do wish you the best of luck in all your writing endeavors.
Please support this author and grab your copy of Along Came Pauly.
The best you can show your support is write reviews on every sites they’ve got their books on. Every review and rating counts.

Kind wishes,
Adrienne Woods

One thought on “Interview with Chris Redding, author for Along Came Pauly

  1. Pingback: Why is Pauly Shore in my head? – slimegreen

Leave a Reply

