Meet Sarah Cradit: author of The Storm and the Darkness

6914411

I caught up with Sarah and asked her a couple of questions. This is what she had to say.

AW: Where were you born, where do you live?
SC: I was born in Washington state, and currently live in Oregon. However, I’ve lived all over the US.

AW: Are you married, children, animals?
SC: Married to my high school sweethearts 🙂 No kids, but we do have a dog, two cats, and two bearded dragons that keep us entertained.

AW: What do you do when you are not writing?
SC: Not much! Between my day job, and writing, it doesn’t leave much time for anything else. Like most writers, I read quite a bit, and I do love to travel.

AW: What other projects or books do you have lined up?
SC: I’m currently participating in the July Camp NaNoWriMo session, where I am writing the first draft of Book 6 of The House of Crimson and Clover Series (titled, The Starlight Awakening). In August, I will start the heavy edits for Book 3 (The Illusions of Eventide), with hope to publish by January.

AW: Your favorite author and books?
SC: I’m a huge fan of Anne Rice, and her novels have inspired my writing perhaps more than any other writer. My favorite book of all time, though, would have to be War and Peace. I consider it the framework for dimensional, complex characters. The character of Adrienne Deschanel was loosely based on Natasha.

AW: How do you come up with this amazing characters and conflicts? Like for instance how did you come up with The Storm and The Darkness?
SC: I’m always fascinated with complex character development. It’s interesting to me to try and dissect why people do the things they do, especially when they behave exactly the opposite of what you would expect. Everyone does things for a reason, and sometimes that reason can be interesting enough to build a story around. The Storm and the Darkness specifically came to me when I passed a house, off a wooded highway, that looked as if it was isolated from all the world. Then I imagined, what if someone, foreign and unfamiliar, ended up stranded there? Then what? From there, the story blossomed. That wooded area became an island in Maine, and that foreign and unfamiliar stranger morphed into Ana. The world slowly built up around it, and became what it is today.

AW:Where did writing start with you. When did you developed a passion for it?
SC: I started writing when I was 7, and never really stopped. I’ve always loved creation, and world-building, so for me, writing is a natural way to do that. For instance, the Deschanel and Sullivan Genealogy Project I’ve worked on has over 200 unique entries. For me to enjoy what I am writing, there must be a larger, deeper ecosystem beneath.

AW: Where can people get intouch with you.
SC: Blog: http://sarahcradit.wordpress.comFacebook: http://www.facebook.com/houseofcrimsonandcloverTwitter: https://twitter.com/thewritersarahGoodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6914411.Sarah_M_Cradit

AW: Where can people buy your books.
SC: St. Charles at Dusk
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Charles-House-Crimson-Clover-ebook/dp/B005RT0ZKE
BN: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/st-charles-at-dusk-sarah-cradit/1106036490
The Storm and the Darkness
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Storm-Darkness-Crimson-Clover-ebook/dp/B00DS86XU2
BN: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-storm-and-the-darkness-sarah-m-cradit/1115922678
Both books are also available on Smashwords, Itunes, Sony, Kobo, etc.

Thank you so much Sarah for taking the time to have a small chat. I wish you all the best with your writing and your novels.

Kind wishes everyone, and please support our authors.
Adrienne Woods

2 thoughts on “Meet Sarah Cradit: author of The Storm and the Darkness

Leave a Reply

